Home

November 19, 2016

Dearest,

Today has been such an interesting day.

As you know, insomnia visited last night, and I was up at least till past three. At seven, my alarm rang, and I snoozed it until the parents said they were on their way. We were going out.

We went to the place you first concocted our connect four game, one we have played till this day. I think it was also the same night I repeatedly leaned backwards into the pond, confident always that you’d catch me. You did, every time, although you also thought I was crazy. But you decided I was the one anyway.

The pond is gone now, I don’t know what they’re going to do with that space. It’s under construction.

The parents brought bicycles, and we cycled around as far as Lorong Halaus. I told them we’d walked there once, from home, and cabbed back, because it had been tiring. I enjoyed that day so much, though, as I had the night with the planes and pond. Mommy keeps talking about taking you out when you’re back, and wondering how you are. We all miss you!

Tonight, after prayer meeting, I was hungry again, and I bought fruit to stave it- after all, I had had a full plate of hokkien mee for dinner. But you know, I ended up taking the lift back down to order more food. I know you won’t be surprised reading this. But guess what happened then?

Whilst eating, i overheard a middle aged lady asking the elderly cleaner if he’d eaten. He said he had. I recognised him by his cap; he was the smiley uncle. Actually, all our cleaners are nice, you’ll like them as much as I do.

When I had finished my meal, I went up to him and asked him the same question, and got the same answer. I guess I just wanted him to know more than one person cared. Then, to my surprise, he said-

“You’re the one who bought me a drink the other day. Sorry, just now I didn’t recognise you”.

I was taken aback, because I had given the dollar to the drink stall and asked them to make the drink when he had a break, and I hadn’t identified myself. But it was a happy embarrassment.

Uncle then asked if I’m Christian. Turns out he’s a Catholic, and goes to the Catholic church down the road. He studied there, too. I said he must have been in hougang for a long time. He pointed across the road and said he used to live there.

When it was a kampong?, I asked.

No, it was all sea after that.

Dearest, the elderly around us are living history, and they are so precious. When you’re home, we’ll take the lift down, and you’ll see what I mean.

Loving you so much,

Me.

Leave a Reply

