Home

It has been a week since you left

November 4, 2015

Every morning, i battle peak hour commute,
Body upon body and i do not fear falling when the train jerks
I hold bag, french book one and livre français deux
I take the greatest care with my takeaway cup of tea
Sometimes it arrives in class breathless and spilled in carrier
I often bring your sweater along
Drapped over
Hugging
Soft

Your shoes are in the doorway and it feels companionable
You left one shirt behind;
I hung it up on the hooks next to my stuff
This list feels incomplete
Life goes on

I’m wearing your pyjamas tonight.

Leave a Reply

