Home

Photo post

October 14, 2014

So I’ve been cooking and making quite a bit recently, and decided to put them all together, along with other bobs of life. In no particular order, then-

IMG_20141013_220259

Meatballs- credit: http://3hungrytummies.blogspot.com.au/2011/12/sticky-soy-and-garlic-meatballs.html

They were pretty good, in large part due, I believe, to the leftover chicken oil I used from Jenny’s (my dear matriarch landlady) earlier cooking of her chicken- no store-bought oil can beat the goodness of real-time produced oil, I’m telling you. mmm. Also, I advocate eating fresh- 500g of minced pork made 20-22 (I lost count) ping pong sized meatballs, and they tasted nicer last night than they do today. I will have 5 for lunch with rice tomorrow and I’m just hoping they’ll be alright. Eat fresh, my friends, eat fresh.

IMG_20141014_160200

Scones in the making – credit: http://www.karencheng.com.au/2014/09/08/simple-cheese-and-bacon-scones/

Excellent, although we put in a dash more milk, and a scattering more flour, than the recipe called for. The idea is a texture wetter than cookie dough, though still firm enough to shape. So good, Jenny’s youngest son asked if he could bring a bag to school tomorrow. I’m hoping to save some for John though, so Matthew got a small Tupperware’s worth instead. But I did give him enough to share with his friends. Also, lesson re scones- don’t put them in the fridge, or they’ll harden. This is according to the wisdom of Celeste, with whom I made the scones, and I shall listen to her.

IMG_20140926_142617

Jenny’s egg boiler I got very excited by. It looks so cute hehehe

IMG_20140929_171344

Possily Burmese Chicken Stew – credit: http://shesimmers.com/2009/04/burmese-chicken-stew-maybe.html

I remember putting this up some time ago. Well, I’ve made it twice since. This is a photo from the first round, and it must be said the husband has admirable pan-frying skills. He seared it very well. I followed the proportions the first time, and halved the ginger the second – not by intent, but circumstance – the ginger, once shaved, proved to be bruised. Not returning to Spudshed. Mmm. I liked it even better the second time, but that’s possibly because I added more turmeric (preemptive warning: the future third time, do not be overenthusiastic with the yellow spice and drown the other flavours with overenthusiasm).  mmm. I’ll probably do three-quarters the ginger portion from now on. The kick from the root does hit a good spot. Meanwhile, there are still three pieces biding their time in the fridge. For some reason, stews do well over time. Not meatballs.

IMG_20140923_150518

An old lunch photo I included cuz it looks pretty.

I have a couple more photos, of a squashed spider (writing that makes my heart drop some) and a cake I made, but I don’t think I’ll upload them. I didn’t want to smack the spider with my slipper, but Jenny the dear matriarch told me about red-back spiders and their bites and the need to kill upon sight and the spider in the bathtub, well- I didn’t know how red-back spiders looked like. It just looked kind of red all over to me. I like spiders, I didn’t like smacking that one.

As for the cake I made, the photo is upside down and I can’t get it the right side up, and I know if I put it up here the upside-down-ness would bug me each time I look at it. And since I look at old posts pretty often, I figure it’s not quite worth the niggle. But it was my first cake…

IMG_20141003_142727

Figured it out. Hi cake.

Alright, it’s bedtime. Goodnight world, do you think John will have his scones and more tomorrow? I hope so!

Leave a Reply

